Genesis

I was raised in a Baptist family. I was baptized and went to church and Sunday school every Sunday until I left home for college. I remember sitting through church, my stomach growling as I thought about the breakfast I would have at Grandma’s once the service was finished. The sermons weren’t very interesting to me, but singing the hymns next to my dad helped the time go by faster. In Sunday school, I asked questions that the minister and teachers didn’t appreciate, such as, “Did Adam and Eve have belly buttons?” The adults thought I was being “fresh” but I really wanted to know.

My skepticism about religion began as apathy. My parents did not cultivate my curiosity about the inconsistencies and fallacies that seemed evident to me, so without an intellectual outlet to explore the questions I had, I just stopped being interested. I didn’t feel any love for any gods and I didn’t feel any need for supernatural explanations to anything. I preferred thinking about the biological rather than the spiritual. Frogs, salamanders and worms occupied me for hours. And at Christmastime or Easter, I felt no emotional connection to the religious undercurrent of the holidays.

When I got to college, I was intrigued by the diversity of race, religion and culture. I had never met a Jew or Muslim before. I started to question why any of us thought we had the story of our existence right. I started taking philosophy classes, in which I was usually the loud and dissenting opinion about topics that I found myself uncontrollably passionate about: fate, theism, free will and epistemeology.

Finally, I acknowledged what I think I knew while sitting in church all those years. I was an atheist. Arriving at that conclusion felt like coming home for the first time in my life. It was right. The world looked more beautiful, complete and perfect to me.

My husband is an atheist too. We have a seventeen month old son I’ll call Soren here. The purpose of this blog is to document my journey raising Soren to be a critical thinker, a skeptic of the unprovable and supernatural, and an independent thinker. Already my husband and I are recognizing the difficulties of atheist parenting that lie ahead of us. It’s the harder road to travel, but we fully believe it’s in Soren’s best interests.

One thought on “Genesis

  1. It’s really wonderful that you and your husband are in agreement on this.

    It’s not like that with us and our almost 10 yr old daughter. We did do church in the beginning -up till she was around 7. She and I dont miss it at all. He thinks we should still be taking her somewhere. But he doesnt want to get her up and ready and go alone w/her – lol. The hypocrisy of organized religion just make me cringe at the thought of going again.

    She still gets exposure to it like with friend’s vacation bible school invites and such. Which to her is more about playing and cookies, so she likes that. Im not at all against the exposure to religion or god –
    just dont want her mind warped into believing nonsense and her becoming a sheeple. She asks alot of questions and I love that! That’s exactly what I want her to do.

    You really do write well and in a way I totally get what you are saying.

    Im curious what books you and your husband have read on the subject. I have several on my list from some recommendations from Julia Sweeney’s blog. I love her!
    Right now, I’m struggling with “How we Believe” by Michael Shermer. It’s very good and I do like it, but most of the time, it goes over my head or loses me in the scientific wordiness. I think I need to read it at the start of the day with coffee – lol. And highlight stuff.

Leave a Reply

